The ups and downs of… my kilt. Part 3 Glasgow and The Highlands

We flew from Dublin, Ireland to Glasgow, Scotland. Some fear began to set in when we were at the car rental desk and I agree to drive a stick shift on the opposite side of the road than I’m used to. As we walked to the car I was trying to adjust everything I had learned in driving on the right side of the road to the left. We got the car and went to the hotel. Where I crashed. We had driven 2 hours from Galway to Dublin for the flight, sat in the airport for hours, and just had a stressful experience driving on the opposite side of the road. But we eventually got up and went out. I had found a little whiskey bar called “The Pot Still”. This was exactly what we needed after a long day of travel. It was a quiet place with corner booths and the biggest selection of whiskey that I have every seen. I don’t remember what we had but I do remember it being delicious.

The next day we began our journey to the Highland. Namely, Portree on The Isle of Skye. The drive was the most beautiful drive I have ever taken. Scotland is the most beautiful country I’ve been too. I would pay top dollar to ride in a dog cage to make that drive again. I don’t know how to put words to the Highlands. It was surreal. We kept stopping along the way to take in the scenery.

We arrive in Portree and crash. It is a small town. We traveled in the offseason, so some places were closed. But it was quant. I was able to try a beer from a brewery on the isle. Isle of Skye Brewing Company. Nice beers to help me relax after 5 hours of driving.

We planned out the next day a little and went to bed. So much of this trip I feel like I missed, even though we did so much.

 

Recommendations:

  1. Nissan Qashqai Diesel. Get this car in America!
  2. The Pot Still located at 154 Hope St, Glasgow G2 2TH, UK.
  3. Drive the Highlands. All of them.
Leave a Reply

